1994 Men's Cross Country


The 1994 squad established itself as one of the strongest men’s cross country teams in school history.  

That season, the Cardinals, under head coach and future Otterbein Hall of Famer Dave Lehman, won the Ohio Athletic Conference championship, placed third at the Great Lakes Regional, and recorded their highest finish ever at the NCAA championships, placing eighth in the 21-team field.

The Cardinals placed all five runners in the top ten at the OAC championships, edging Mount Union by seven points to take the title. Otterbein also recorded its best finish ever, fifth place, at the All-Ohio, a meet that included all NCAA divisions in Ohio. The Cardinals finished the season with a 90.7 winning percentage.

Senior Rob Hagquist led the Cardinals at the national meet, placing 26th to earn All-America honors. Hagquist also led Otterbein at the regional and conference meets, finishing second at both events.

Members of the team, in addition to Hagquist, were Ryan Borland, Carl Cashen, Chris DeLong, Gary Dille, Seth Gilbert, Jason Loughman, Chad Myers, Ethan Pound, Jeff Ressler, John Riley, Mike Stobart, and Albert Wheeler.